Skip to content

You Reap What You Sow?

May 7, 2012

We planted our garden this weekend. I tilled it and Elizabeth seeded it, and God watered it! Last year we planted a variety of things, but since this year we have the house on the market we just planted some short-growth veggies! When we plant, I think of Galatians 6:7 “Do not be deceived, God is not mocked, whatever one sows that will he also reap.”

I am not anticipating green beans coming up where I planted lettuce, and tomatoes where I planted peppers. Why then would I expect to reap respect when I sowed bitterness, or love where I sowed hate? Paul makes it clear if I sow to my own flesh (self), I reap the benefits of self, which is corruption (eternal corruption), but if I sow to the Spirit (God’s Spirit), I reap the benefits of eternal life. The only way to sow to the Spirit is to trust Jesus (The Gospel), but Paul adds a caveat here, he says in v 9. “let us not grow weary of doing good for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up.”

Gardening is hard work, so is doing good. I am not talking about feeding the homeless type of doing good (although that falls in here). If you look at the context of the whole chapter, Paul is talking about restoring a fellow believer who has ostracized himself due to his own sinfulness. The doing good is also forgiving someone even when they have wronged you. That’s hard work, but if you don’t forgive then you are the one sowing corruption and expecting to reap life in community. Frankly, you’d have a better chance of reaping strawberries from thistle seeds!

Lead with Love,
David

Leave a Reply

