Skip to content

Good Questions for Bible Study

March 27, 2012

I get asked from time to time what kinds of questions are good Bible Study questions.  there is no simple answer for that.  Over my short years I have compiled a list of six questions I can ask of any passage (most of these are not my own, yet I can’t tell you where or who I got them from).  These questions are great because you can use them if you did or did not do your homework, you can use these with non-Christians, new-Christians or mature Christians.  They are as follows:

1.  What is the passage saying?

This is a great question to ask right off the bat because it gets people to the heart of the passage.  I will sometimes ask people to describe the passage in their own words.  Then I will ask them to think of one word that describes the particular passage (there may be multiple words here).

2.  What is attractive to me about this passage?  Why?

3.  What is unattractive to me about this passage?  Why?

I realize these questions are brutally subjective, but after I got over myself I realized these questions help us move toward obedience.  Take for instance when Jesus exhorts us to love our enemies, that type of mindset is attractive to me because that mindset could change the world, it could end every war overnight!  If I’m honest it’s unattractive to me because it takes a lot of work and a lot of self-denial to love my enemy.  You see these subjective questions can get to the heart of my obedience problem.

4.  How does this passage change me?

This question is key to beginning to understand how to obey.

5.  What am I willing to do about it?  

Notice how I didn’t say “What can I do about it,” or “How can I obey this?”  Those are nice questions, but they allow us to lie to ourselves and others about how we are going to obey this passage.  I need to ask what I am willing to do that way I can’t lie to myself.   Western Christians are really good about knowing what to do, but we seem to be really bad at being willing to do it.

6.  How can I share this with others?

This question is important because it helps us transfer what we’ve learned and provides a source of accountability.  If I tell someone what I’ve learned, I’d better follow through with it.

To some these might be too simplistic.  The more I realize the sinfulness of my own heart I realize the simpler it is the more likely I am to obey.  It’s easy to let your theology explain away your obedience to a given passage of Scripture.  I was taught in Bible College that there is “one interpretation and many applications.” yet I fear most of us never move past interpretation and over time we blur the line to where gaining knowledge and obedience are congruent.

Lord, forgive us.

Lead with Love,

David

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

