Skip to content

Getting to Know The Author

January 18, 2012

I am an avid reader.  I love to consume books, the vast majority of books I consume are non-fiction.  The topics I enjoy reading the most are theological issues and history (Civil War, but also World History).  Typically, I don’t just read the book, I study the author a bit as well.   I Google them and look online at their website or read a bio on them from the school where they teach.  I like to know where the author is coming from and background information so that I understand their worldview and why they view a specific topic or period in a certain way.

There is one book where I don’t have to go anywhere else to find out more about the Author, the Bible!  The more I read Scripture, the more I not only know about the Author, I get to KNOW the Author!  No other book does that, not even a decent auto-biography.  God tells us through the writings of Peter (2 Peter 1:2-3) – Grace and peace be multiplied to you in the knowledge of God and of Jesus our Lord; seeing that His divine power has granted to us everything pertaining to life and godliness, through the true knowledge of Him who called us by His own glory and excellence. (NASB)

The best part of it is through the knowledge of Him, He has “granted to us everything pertaining to life and godliness…”  The Bible speaks into every circumstance of life, it is sufficient for every step of my life.

If you want to know God’s worldview, Google doesn’t have it, you can’t find it on wikipedia, but you can read it in The Bible!  Know it-to use it!

Lead with Love,

Dave

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

