Skip to content

In Process

November 15, 2011

I finished building some shelves for my boys this weekend.  They wanted shelves in their room, Caden wants a red shelf and Briston wants a blue shelf.  I am the son of a talented woodworker (Jack of all trades, really), but those genes didn’t pass on for the most part.

Before I started, I decided how big I wanted the shelves, and how much wood I would need to buy to accomplish the task.  I measured twice and cut once like I was taught.  Once all the pieces were cut and laying in piles I had a decision to make, I could glue and brad nail it and paint the final product or I could paint each piece and then put the pieces together.  I chose to paint first then put them together.  At the end of the day it didn’t really matter, was one easier than the other?  I’ll never know!

As I was working on this project I thought how we are all in process.  As leaders sometimes we get frustrated when people aren’t where we are on certain things.  Maybe they aren’t as committed as we are, maybe they aren’t on the same page in a certain priority or belief, but as leaders we need to be able to assess reality and then meet each person where they are, not where we are.

Take Paul for example, in 1 Corinthians 9:22b “…I have become all things to all men, that I might by all means save some.”  In the previous verses he talks about how he wears different proverbial hats while dealing with different people.  This isn’t being chameleon-like, rather it’s recognizing who he is dealing with and being willing to put others first and meet these people where they are in process even though he was in a different stage of the process.  He himself still moves forward, disciplining his body…”lest, when I have preached to others, I myself should become disqualified.” (v.27).

This is ultimately a function of grace.   Some people have to be painted before they can be glued together and some have to be glued together before they are painted.  The goal is to make a shelf, or a disciple!

Lead with Love,

Dave

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

