Skip to content

Getting Schooled by Grace (Titus 2:11-15)

August 29, 2011

I remember finishing my coursework for Seminary and thinking I am never again going to read something someone assigns to me.  All of my reading from now on will be free reading, that lasted a couple years.  When I was in Seminary it was law, my professor made me read the book, if I didn’t read the book I didn’t pass the class.

I took a job at the church as an intern and was assigned several books over that time period.  On staff here I think of it as grace, my position isn’t going to be jeopardized over not reading a book in a timely manner, yet grace has made a demand (Romans 6:14, we are not under law, but under grace) that I read the book, therefore my desire should be to want to please the one who has given me this grace, so I read the book.  Fortunately, I have not been assigned a book that I didn’t want to read, but even if I was, I would read it with joy because grace asked me to do it.  I know it’s not a perfect picture of the difference between law and grace, but it’s at least similar.  In my position at church I am no longer under a professor, I have already got the job, yet I am still under authority.

If you have read Galatians 3 you begin to get a taste of the importance of law in the Christian life (Gal. 3:24).  Although we are not bound by the law it still serves a purpose in our salvation in that it is a tutor, a teacher that educates us on our position in Christ.   Once we are believers (Galatians 3:25) we are no longer in school, the teacher no longer has authority over us.  Yet we are under grace, and grace makes demands, it schools us!  Paul let’s Titus know what one of those schooled by grace moments are in this passage.

Paul tells Titus that grace “teaches us to say no to ungodliness”.   We live in a culture where no is a four letter word.  Grace can’t possibly tell us no because that sounds too much like law.  Doesn’t grace mean I can do anything?  No!  We are under grace, grace can and should tell us what to do or not to do.  Grace also teaches us to say yes to right living in the same passage.  it tells us this because of one reason, Jesus.  Jesus gave himself for us, the grace He gives asks us to do and not do certain things.

As you are leading, is grace a fundamental part of your leadership style?  I hope it is.  I hope that it teaches you to say no to ungodliness and yes to right living because people are watching.  I promise you they are watching your every move and they are stacking it up against what you say.  Let’s get schooled by grace every day!

Lead with Love,

Dave

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

